Sharing Bluebeam Studio Project Files

Sharing Bluebeam Studio files with people outside of your Bluebeam Studio Project is easy.  This function works in both the Revu for Windows and Mac versions of Revu.  

You’ll start by providing others a link through which they can download a local copy of the file directly to their PC or MAC. The recipient will not have access to other Project files or features, but they will be able to use the same link to download updated versions of the file for as long as the link is active. Note: Remember that all file types can reside in a Studio Project. You aren’t limited to PDF files.

Only Project users with the Share Items or Full Control permission can share items.


To share a link to a Project file:

  1. When in the Project, open one of you project folders, right-click the desired file and select Share Link. The Share File dialog box appears.Sharing Bluebeam Studio Project files
  2. Select the active period for the link to the Project file from the Share File for menu:
    • Lifetime of Project: Select this option to have the link remain active for as long as the Project is active. The recipient will be able to use the link to download a current version of the Project file for the duration of the Project.
    • 24 Hours: Select this option to have the link automatically expire 24 hours after it is created.  See video above to remove access before the 24 Hours expires.
  1. To require a password in order to download the Project file, select Require Password and enter a password in the Password and Confirm Password fields. The recipient will be required to enter the same password before being allowed to download the file.
    • Passwords must be at least five characters long.
  2. screenshot-2016-10-03-12-26-12Click OK. A second Share File dialog box appears. 
  3. Click Copy Link to Share to copy the link to the clipboard. Once it is copied to the clipboard, you can then paste it into an email or other type of electronic message to send to recipients. If you set the file to require a password, be sure to let them know what the password is as well.

When sharing Bluebeam Studio Project files, your recipient receives the link that they’ll need to open it in the browser of their choice, which will provide them with a download button that they can use to retrieve the file. If a password is required, they will be prompted for it.


See how it’s done


Managing Shared Project Files

You can force external links to Project Files to expire ahead of their scheduled expiration (current options are 24-hours and End of Project Life). Users with sufficient permissions set (Project owners or users with Full Control) can force the expiration of any link in the Project (even those created by others); all others can only force the expiration of links they generated.

To force a Project link to expire:

  1. When in the Project, click Settings. The Project Settings dialog box appears.
  2. Click Manage Shared Links. A Web Tab opens in Revu to a Studio Shared Links page.
  3. The Studio Shared Links page shows all your Studio Projects. Locate the desired Project from the project list (using the Owned Projects and Attended Projects links can be helpful) and click its link. 
  4. To force a link to expire, click Expire.

From the Manage Shared Links page, Project Owners can see Project files that have been shared with people outside the Project.

To audit shared links:

  1. When in the Project, click Settings. The Project Settings dialog box appears.
  2. Click Manage Shared Links. A Webtab opens in Revu to a Studio Shared Links page.
  3. The Studio Shared Links page shows all your Studio Projects. Locate the desired Project (using the Owned Projects and Attended Projects links can be helpful to this task) and click its link. 
  1. Click Active to view links that are currently active.
  2. Click Expired to view links that have expired.

Related Articles