Skip to content
480-559-8670 - obc@uscad.com

Transfer your Bluebeam Revu License from one PC to another

(This post if for versions 12, 2015, 2016, and 2017. For version 2018 visit this post)


Bluebeam software is registered on a “per workstation” basis with a node-locked license (Unless you have an Open license of Revu, but that’s for another post).  This means that Bluebeam Revu is tied to a particular PC.  The locking takes place when the license is registered (married) to a particular PC.

Bluebeam Revu licenses are also portable however.  This means that we can easily transfer the license or registration from one PC to another.  A realistic use case would be for when you are using Bluebeam Revu in your office today……..but need to you Bluebeam Revu on your Laptop while in the field tomorrow.  You don’t necessarily need to purchase a second license just for field work.  See this video below for instructions on transferring your Bluebeam Revu registration license to a second PC.

In the end, you’ll actually have Bluebeam Revu installed on 2 (or more) PCs, but it’ll only be registered (and usable) on 1 PC at a time.


Now, let’s transfer your Revu Settings to another PC  

Perhaps you’ve spent some time configuring your settings on your office workstation, and you’d like those same setting on the “field” laptop while you’re out of the office.  Well, that’s easy too.  Although the video referenced above shows how to do this, these step-by-step directions will show you as well.

  1. Go to the Help Menu
  2. Select the Administrator Button
  3. Click the Revu Tab from Bluebeam Administrator
  4. Select “Backup Settings” and save the backup zip file

 

  1. Go to  the Help Menu
  2. Click the Administrator Button
  3. Select the Revu Tab from Bluebeam Administrator
  4. Select “Restore Settings” and browse to the backup zip file you save in the previous step, then restore it
Import Setting from Bluebeam Revu

Import Setting from Bluebeam Revu

 

What to watch for: Don’t forget to unregister your copy of Bluebeam Revu from your workstation prior to leaving for your time in the field.  Yes, this is a manual process.  Hit that Unregister button or run the risk of being without your registered copy of Bluebeam Revu.

Running into issues with orphaned seats of Bluebeam Revu?  “Orphaned” means that a PC has been lost, stolen, retired, reimaged, or repurposed without first unregistering the copy of Revu that lived on that PC. It would then appear that the seat of Revu on that retired PC is still registered and in use – even if it isn’t.  Converting to Enterprise Licensing will help you manage licenses more efficiently. Contact us to learn more.

Leave a Comment





Save the Date:

Creating and Managing Digital Documents in Bluebeam Revu (March 29, 2019 at 2pm CST) - Register

Batch Tools in Bluebeam Revu eXtreme (April 30, 2019 at 2pm CST) - Register

XCON 2019 - August 26 – 28  |  Washington, DC.  1,000+ attendees, 536 Companies, 100+ hours of Education, 100+ AIA Approved Courses, 102 Customer Speakers

Scroll To Top